McCallie is an All-Boys Private Boarding School and Day School, a Christian-based College Prep School. 
McCallie seeks out and accepts boys from all ethnic, racial, religious, and socioeconomic backgrounds and places a high value on a diverse student body.

Fifteen seniors named as National Merit Scholarship Commended Students

  • Academics
  • Upper School
National Merit Commended Students for 2022


Fifteen McCallie School seniors were recognized as Commended Students in the 2022 National Merit Scholarship Program. They join nine other students who were recently recognized as National Merit Semifinalists.

The Commended Scholars placed among the top 50,000 scorers of more than 1.5 million students nationwide who entered the 2021 scholastic competition by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test.

The students are:

Hussain Agha – Chattanooga, Tennessee, son of Syed and Gulsanga Agha;
Jack Blankenship – Chattanooga, Tennessee, son of Steven and Robin Blankenship;
Byron Chambers – Cookeville, Tennessee, son of Byron and Amy Chambers;
Jaxon Dildine – Chattanooga, Tennessee, son of Jason and Jessica Dildine;
Luke Gilbert – Charlotte, North Carolina, son of Tobin and Monique Gilbert;
Charles Griffin – Decatur, Georgia, son of Jason and Laura Griffin;
Shuai 'David' Han – Beijing, China, son of Yanfeng Han and BaoZhu Zhou;
Sasha Khoretonenko – Solon, Ohio, son of Mikhall and Natalia Khoretonenko;
John Kohl McAdams – Seguin, Texas, son of James and Molly McAdams;
Amaar Memon – Chattanooga, Tennessee, son of Naveed and Zara Memon;
Noah Moon – Atlanta, Georgia, son of Peter and Susan Moon;
Brian Moore – San Francisco, California, son of Kevin and Jeanette Moore;
Charles Mullins – Durham, North Carolina, son of Philip and Susan Mullins;
Hunter Murray – Lookout Mountain, Georgia, son of Craig and Kimberly Murray;
Kun 'Kevin' Zuo – Beijing, China, son of Chunling Zhang.

The National Merit Semifinalists, who were announced on Sept. 15, are: 

Ian Campbell – Chattanooga, Tennessee, son of James and Eunice Campbell;
Boris Khoretonenko – Solon, Ohio, son of Mikhall and Natalia Khoretonenko;
Levi Lebovitz – Chattanooga, Tennessee, son of Alan and Allison Lebovitz;
Rahul Patel – Chattanooga, Tennessee, son of Chiag and Malvika Patel;
Jackson Scarbrough – Cleveland, Tennessee, son of Wayne and Paula Scarborough;
Vihaal Vellanki – Minnetonka, Minnesota, son of Venkata and Charulata Vellanki;
Warren Yap – Chattanooga, Tennessee, son of Richard and Belinda Yap;
Qijun 'Jerry' Zhang – Richmond Hill, Ontario, Canada, son of Qunyan Zhang; 
Zhengyu 'Byron' Zou – Shanghai, China, son of Ziping and Ying Zou. 

Also announced on Sept. 15 were:

College Board National Hispanic Recognition Program Scholars
Ethan Roldan – Cleveland, Tennessee, son of Juan and Karina Roldan;
Ricardo Wang-Polendo – Roseville, Minnesota, son of Richardo Polendo and Chiung Wang.

College Board National African American Recognition Program Scholars
Daniel Anderson – Kingston, Jamaica, son of Kurt and Kisha Anderson
Joseph Milfort – Dunwoody, Georgia, son of Alisia Milfort and Joe Milfort
Matthew Anderson – Kingston, Jamaica, son of Kurt and Kisha Anderson

  • national merit