Skip To Main Content

McCallie honors top students at 2022 Awards Day

  • Academics
  • Upper School
Luke Gilbert and Levi Lebovitz


Years of hard work and perseverance paid off for several McCallie students at the annual Upper School Awards Day celebrations, with Levi Lebovitz and Jackson Scarbrough named Co-Valedictorians for the Class of 2022 and Luke Gilbert winning the Grayson Medal as the top overall student of the senior class.

Jackson Scarbrough and Levi Lebovitz

Lebovitz, a day student from Chattanooga, and Jackson Scarbrough, a boarding student from Cleveland, TN, finished with the highest grade point average in the class. During the assembly, Gilbert, from Charlotte, NC, was presented with the Grayson Medal, the highest honor bestowed on a member of the graduating class. Levi Lebovitz was also named winner of the Campbell Memorial Award, recognizing the second most-esteemed member of the graduating class. Classmates gave each senior and the other award winners loud ovations during the two-day awards presentation, showing their respect for these exceptional young men.

Upon graduation from McCallie, Lebovitz plans to attend Stanford University in Stanford, CA, Scarbrough will attend Dartmouth College in Hanover, NH, and Gilbert will attend Yale University in New Haven, CT.

David Cook accepts the award for Keo-Kio teacher of the year

Also bringing the Upper School to its feet was English teacher David Cook being named winner of the Keo-Kio Distinguished Teacher award. Dozens of other students were recognized during the two-day awards presentations, from superior academic accomplishments to outstanding effort in athletics and extracurriculars, from character recognition awards for leadership to awards for service.

In addition, teachers and coaches were also recognized for the influence they have had on the lives of students. Nelson Eiselstein, who lives and works as dorm faculty in South Hutcheson Dorm, was given the Faculty Residential Life Award, recognizing the dormitory advisor who has most positively influenced the residential community over the year. Coaches Jeff Clark '91 and Steve Reno were named recipients of the Coaching for Character Award.

The complete list of 2022 McCallie Class Award winners:

  • Grayson Memorial Medal:  Lucas Boehnlein Gilbert
  • Campbell Memorial Award:  Levi Morris Lebovitz
  • Walker Casey Award:  John Kohl McAdams (announced in March 2022)
  • Valedictorians:  Levi Morris Lebovitz, Jackson Paul Scarbrough
  • Don C. Peglar Award for Christian Leadership: John Kohl McAdams
  • J.P. McCallie Award for Christian Leadership: Hunter Craig Murray
  • Maurice Contor Award: Blake Asher Evans
  • Hanes Growth to Potential Award: Ralston Kennedy Welch
  • RISE Lifetime Achievement Award: Micah Copland Wilson
  • Gardner Spirit Award: Hugh Dobson Carlson
  • F.M. McCallie Award for Community Service: 
  • Stephens Athletic Award: Aaron Lamar Crowder
  • Coaches Award for Athletic Excellence:  William Graham Riddle
  • Burns Modern Language Award: Jingfan "Eason" Zhou
  • Johnson Spanish Award: Lucas Boehnlein Gilbert
  • Kent Memorial Latin Award: Erik Turner Lie-Nielson
  • German Award: Frank Bruce Stephens, Jr.
  • Chinese Language Award: Shawn Forrest Huss
  • Strang Memorial English Award: Jackson Paul Scarbrough
  • Allison Memorial Geometry Award: Hudson William Hazlewood
  • Ware Calculus Award: James Jackson Darby
  • Brock Chemistry Award: William Collin Nester
  • Purdy Memorial Physics Award: Aviral Jain
  • Award for Excellence in Biology: Benjamin Yue Yang
  • Bibb Memorial Bible Award: Christopher Thomas Romero
  • Parks Bible Award: William Smith Nygaard
  • Senior Art Awards: Boonstra Johnson Elliott, Vihaal Raghava Vellanki
  • D.A.R. History Medal: Kun "Keven" Zuo 
  • Forensics Award: Levi Morris Lebovitz
  • Taliaferro Publications Award: Jenion Luke Vesser
  • Videography/Digital Media Award: Hussain Syed Agha
  • Milligan Memorial F.C.A. Award:  Evan Benjamin Winnie
  • Walker Dramatics Award: Benjamin Thomas Johnson
  • Kinser Music Award: Javen Reeves Johnson
  • National School Choral Award: Aaron Lamar Crowder
  • Outdoor Award: Jaxon Dane Dildine
  • Argonaut Creative Writing: Calvin Granger Wood
  • Dr. T.E.P. Woods Awards for Academic Excellence: Ninth Grade: Siddarth Gregory Cheemakoti; Tenth Grade: Jude Mansour Rifai, Arthur Yuanjie Wu; Eleventh Grade: James Jackson Darby, Anirudhha Sunitha Harsha, Alexandre Jacques, Aviral Jain, Jonathan Paul Manta, Mark Wesley Spykerman, Jr., Owen Donald Scott Taggart, Rhys Thatcher Woodard
  • Faculty Scholars:  Daniel Arthur Anderson,  Thomas Jackson Blankenship,  Ian Alexander Brunetz, Brennan Davis Earl, Zihao Gao, Lucas Boehnlein Gilbert, Charles Hunter Griffin, Alexander Mikhailovich Khoretonenko, Boris Mikhailovich Khoretonenko, Junyi Li, Amaar Hassan Memon, Brian Elliott Moore, Charles Ernest Mullins, Brian Andrew Negus, Surya Ravinder, Vihaal Raghava Vellanki, Matthew Warren Yap, Qijun Zhang, Zhengyu Zou
  • Keo-Kio Distinguished Teaching Award:  David Cook
  • Faculty Residential Life Award:  Nelson Eiselstein
  • Senior Award for Service to Residential Life: William Dodge Leathers
  • Coaching for Character Award:  Jeff Clark '91,  Steve Reno
  • Sportsmanship and Teammate Award: Ethan Ray Tolar
  • Coaches Athletic Award: William Graham Riddle
  • Athletic Excellence & Achievement Award: Samuel Pennington Powe
  • McCallie Athletic Council Character & Champions Award: Charles Franklin Warren II
  • Coaches Award for Three-Sport Athletes: none


  • awards day
  • Campbell Award
  • grayson medal
  • McCallie School
  • valedictorian